The Cabinet

The Cabinet consists of 10 Councillors and is chaired by the Council Leader.  Each Member has a specific portfolio of responsibilities for areas within the Council’s services.

Forward work programme

The Cabinet’s forward work programme is issued every quarter to give prior notice of the items which will be discussed and decided by the Cabinet. This is a  ‘live’ document and items are added regularly as and when the need arises.

Cabinet programmes and meetings

The programmes consists of reports and appendices regarding the items which will be discussed in the meetings.

The programmes are also available from Siop Gwynedd, Caernarfon 5 working days before the date of the meeting.

Cabinet meetings are open to the public and to members of the press (except for exempt items). You can also view the meeting live or view other archived Cabinet meetings

Decision notices

There are 2 types of decision notices:

  • Decision notices which minute a decision by the Cabinet Members in a formal meeting of the Cabinet. 
    Cabinet Decision Notices for meetings from 13 September 2016 will appear with the programme and minutes for the relevant Cabinet meeting. Go to the ‘Meeting programmes and minutes’ section to see 2017-2018 decision notices.

Cabinet meetings decision notices 2014-17

Individual Member's Decision Notices


Cabinet members 

Cabinet Members
Cabinet Member HolderContent 


Strategic Leadership


Dyfrig Siencyn Strategic Leadership.

Deputy Leader

Adults, Health and Wellbeing

Dafydd Meurig  Adults, Health and Wellbeing, Relationship with the Health Service.


Cemlyn Williams Schools and Education


Gareth Griffith 


Corporate Support

Nia Jeffreys  Corporate Support, Corporate Governance and Legal Services. 


Ioan Thomas   Finance, Information Technology.
Children and Young People Dilwyn Morgan Children and Young People.
Economic Development Gareth Thomas  North Wales Growth Strategy, Business Support, Tourism, Community Regeneration, Strategic Projects, Maritime.
Highways and Municipal Catrin Wager  Highways and Municipal, Consultancy, Trunk-road Agency.
Housing Craig ab Iago  Housing Services.