Council Chairperson

Gwynedd Council elects a Chairman and Vice-Chairman every 12 months at the Council's annual meeting. The Chairman presides over meetings of the Council and represents Gwynedd Council in civic and ceremonial functions.

In the annual Gwynedd Council meeting on 3 May, Councillor Annwen Hughes (Llanbedr and Llanfair) was elected Chairperson of Gwynedd Council, with Councillor Edgar Wyn Owen (Waunfawr) as Vice-Chair.

A Gwynedd Councillor since 2012, Councillor Annwen Hughes has served on a number of committees including:

  • Scrutiny (Communities)
  • Licensing
  • Cambrian Railway
  • Democratic Services
  • Meirionnydd Area Forum
  • and as of last year is a member of the Snowdonia National Park Authority.

She is also a Governor at Ysgol Ardudwy, and is Chair of Governors of Llanbedr Primary School.

On her election as Gwynedd Council Chairperson, Councillor Hughes said:

It is an honour and a privilege to be elected as Gwynedd Council Chairperson. During my year in the Chair, I will do my best to serve all of Gwynedd’s residents.

Councillor Edgar Wyn Owen (Waunfawr) was elected as Vice-Chair.The Chairman and Vice Chairman can be contacted via:

Sian Ellis Williams
Civic Officer,
Gwynedd Council
Council Offices
LL55 1SH

Phone: 01286 679666