Changes to Gwynedd Council's Cabinet

Date: 25/05/2017

Changes to Gwynedd Council’s Cabinet

The Leader of Gwynedd Council, Councillor Dyfrig Siencyn, has announced his new Cabinet.

 There are three new members to the Cabinet: Councillor Craig ap Iago (Llanllyfni) will lead on Housing, Leisure and Culture; Councillor Gareth Wyn Griffith (Y Felinheli) will be the member for Highways and Municipal and Councillor Dilwyn Morgan (Y Bala) will be the Cabinet member for Children’s Services.

 Councillor Mair Rowlands (Bangor – Menai), who is also Deputy Leader, will take the helm with Corporate Support and Councillor Ioan Thomas (Caernarfon – Menai) is now responsible for Economic Development.

Councillor Dafydd Meurig (Arllechwedd) has been named Cabinet member for the Environment; Councillor Peredur Jenkins (Brithdir / Llanfachreth / Ganllwyd / Llanelltyd) remains responsible for Finance; Councillor Gareth Roberts (Aberdaron) stays in charge of Adult Services; and Councillor Gareth Thomas (Penrhyndeudraeth) continues to take the lead in Education.

 Councillor Dyfrig Siencyn said: “I look forward to working with the new Cabinet team as we provide services for the people of Gwynedd. We have some very experienced members as well as new, enthusiastic members. We will be giving our all to the challenges ahead.”