Changes to Gwynedd Council Cabinet

Date: 22/03/2019

The Leader of Gwynedd Council, Councillor Dyfrig Siencyn, has announced changes to the membership and responsibilities of the Council’s Cabinet.

Two new members have been appointed to the Gwynedd Council Cabinet: Councillor Catrin Wager (Bangor – Menai) who will be leading on Highways and Municipal matters, and Councillor Cemlyn Rees Williams (Caernarfon – Cadnant) who will be responsible for Education. They will start work on 1 April when Councillor Peredur Jenkins and Councillor Gareth Roberts will step down from the Cabinet following a long period of service.

In addition, Councillor Gareth Wyn Griffith will be taking the role of Cabinet Member for Environment; Councillor Ioan Thomas will be Cabinet Member for Finance; Councillor Gareth Thomas will be Cabinet Member for Economic Development and Community with Councillor Dafydd Meurig Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Adults, Health and Wellbeing.

Councillor Dyfrig Siencyn, Gwynedd Council Leader, said: “I very much look forward to working with the new Cabinet. Our vision is to secure the best possible services to communities and residents in Gwynedd, and I know that every one of the Cabinet members will do their best to ensure this.

“The new Cabinet whose work will start from the beginning of April is a very capable team that includes experienced members as well as new and enthusiastic members.

“As we welcome the new members to the Cabinet and confirming the areas that they will be responsible for, I would also like to take the opportunity to once again thank the members who are stepping down from the Cabinet, Councillor Gareth Roberts and Councillor Peredur Jenkins for their years of service.”

Following the new appointments, the new Cabinet and responsibilities will be:

Leader: Councillor Dyfrig Siencyn

Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Adults, Health and Wellbeing: Councillor Dafydd Meurig

Cabinet Member for Education: Councillor Cemlyn Rees Williams

Cabinet Member for Environment: Councillor Gareth Wyn Griffith

Cabinet Member for Corporate Support: Councillor Nia Wyn Jeffreys

Cabinet Member for Finance: Councillor Ioan Thomas

Cabinet Member Economic Development and Community: Councillor Gareth Thomas

Cabinet Member for Children and Young People: Councillor Dilwyn Morgan

Cabinet Member for Highways and Municipal: Councillor Catrin Wager

Cabinet Member for Housing: Councillor Craig ab Iago