Political structure 2

There are 75 councillors on Gwynedd Council and the Council operates through the Cabinet and Scrutiny Committees.

This is the Council's current political constitution:

The Council's political constitution
Party Members 
Plaid Cymru 41
Independent 22
Llais Gwynedd 6
Gwynedd United Independents 3
Individual Member 3
Total 75

The main elements of the Council's political structure are:

The full Council: The County's 75 councillors meet to agree on the Council's policies and set the yearly budget. The Full Council meets 6 times a year.


The Cabinet: The Cabinet consists of 10 Councillors and is chaired by the Council Leader. Each Member has a specific portfolio of responsibilities for areas within the Council’s services. View more information about the Cabinet 


Council Chairperson: Gwynedd Council elects a Chairman and Vice-Chairman every 12 months at the Council's annual meeting. The Chairman presides over meetings of the Council and represents Gwynedd Council in civic and ceremonial functions. View details about the current chairperson